A feather

She gave me a feather. My sense is, it was intended for writing. Laid in a beautiful and old, simply carved wooden box it was. On her face a smile, so warm, so trusting, so knowing that i would know what to do with it. That i would understand the mystery and use it.

What bird it came from i don’t know. Eagle, maybe? The feather my father once got me from a Native American Indian in Switzerland came to mind. The play about the seven fires, it reminded me of, the purpose to always remind me of my roots, no matter what and where i’d be. This, too, i was reminded of with this feather she gave me as a gift.

What did she mean to convey? Remember your roots, yes, they are not where you thought they were. You’ll yet discover them and the place, reconnect and feel the vibrancy of your own ancient history. Carried by the wind, light, floating on the waves, used to clean the crumbs the night before the night that’s different from all the others. Like that feather she may have meant. Did she? I think this, too and more.

Like what? You said your sense was it is intended for writing. Yes? You’re right, it is. Why the feather and not a pen? Ah! There’s a mystery hidden within. Feathers came long before pens. Yes, and? More about my roots? Maybe.

One googles things one does not know. So did i; What is the meaning of feathers? Based on an article by wootandhammy.com feathers have always been associated with freedom, transcendence and communication with spiritual realms. It asks: “what was i thinking when it appeared? What does it mean to me now?”

Hm. I’ve been asking for a sign three days ago, that the Almighty Creator remembers me and that the path i chose is right. That there is nothing else i need to do now but trust, have faith and remember that love is patient.

The feather is my sign. And where i received it confirms more than i could have ever asked for. A dream come true i didn’t even know yet to dream until the beam of light took me there to meet her, 46 years from now. She looked good, lovely really and a little twinkle of mischief bound with deep love and complete joy, i thought i saw in her eyes.

Thank you stars, thank you moon, thank you Shirzad, for the gift and Leah for the journey. Thank you, old wise woman, for your gift to me!

Published by Sara Shani

student, practitioner, writer, teacher, human, soul this is the journey of revealing my soul, finding its purpose and purpose in the moments i am in, to be a guide, a friend, a fellow traveller to others on the path.

Leave a comment